Setting Up a Project
Projects have a series of features designed to facilitate collaboration, help project members coordinate and organize their work, and ensure appropriate control over both data and tools.
Creating a Project
All work takes place in the context of a project. Projects allow a defined set of users and orgs to:
Access specific data
Browse, explore, and analyze this data
Once you have access to the platform and an org that allows for billable activity, you can start working by creating a new project in the UI.
Setting Up Your Project Space
Navigate to the Projects list page, by selecting Projects in the UI from the main menu, then clicking All Projects.
Click the New Project button (highlighted in gold).

The New Project wizard will open in a modal window.

In the Project Name field (highlighted in light blue), enter a name for your project.
In the More Info section (highlighted in gold), add in the optional fields for sorting projects, such as
Tags
Properties
Project Summary
Project Description.
In the Billing Section (highlighted in navy), select the billed to org and Region.
In the Billed To field, choose an account to which project billable activities should be charged.
In the Region field, select your region if it is not already selected.
In the Usage Limits section (highlighted in chartreuse), select the optional compute usage limit and the egress limit. Please note, if you do not have this option and would like to, please contact our sales team at sales@dnanexus.com or a member of our Success Team.
Compute Usage Limits are the monthly compute usage limit for a given project. This value is in USD ($).
Egress Usage Limits are the monthly egress limits for a given project. This value is in bytes.
In the Access section (highlighted in black), specify which users will be able to conduct data-related operations within the project.
Copy Access will limit who can copy data into other projects, or who can use the data as inputs in another projects. The options are All Members or No One.
Delete Access will limit who can delete the project. The options are Contributors and Admins or Admins Only.
Download Access will limit who can download data from the project. The options are All Members or No One.
Additional Settings
To view the additional settings for the Project, click the "Settings" tab on the far left of the project space and scroll to the bottom to the "Administration" section. You will view the following options:

Transfer Billing is used to transfer billing from one org or user to another. When using this feature, you will need to use the user-id of a person to transfer billing
Activate PHI is used to active PHI protection for a project. It refers to identifiable health information that can be linked to a specific person. PHI Data Protection safeguards the confidentiality of the data stored in your project, in compliance with HIPAA. This includes:
Objects in PHI-protected projects cannot be copied to, or accessed from, projects that lack PHI protection.
Some metadata from PHI-protected projects are omitted from analysis notifications.
Once PHI Data Protection is activated for a project, it cannot be disabled.
Actions within PHI-protected projects may be billed at rates different from those that apply to projects without PHI protection.
Project Deletion Protection is used to prevent accidental deletaion of the project. This ensures that you are not deleting a project on accident via the CLI or UI.
Leave Project is to allow you to leave the project after you have set it up.
Delete Project is used to delete the project and all of the cotents.
Last updated